Georgia GMIS Award Recipients

Georgia GMIS wants to recognize all its members who have won awards from either Georgia GMIS or GMIS International.  Please review the list of award winners by Georgia GMIS Members, and if you happen to see them at a conference, congratulate them on their prestigious achievement!


Georgia GMIS 2019 Award Winners

GMIS Awards Group Picture



Best Practices - Macon-Bibb (MaconInsights Data Academy Project)

Outstanding Professional - Macon-Bibb (Jeff Griffin)

Spirit of GMIS - Macon-Bibb (Joe Nabhan)

G2C - Cobb County (Smart County Journey Digital Stops Project)

G2B - Georgia Department of Agriculture
(Georgia Rapid Response Team Emergency Assessment Project)

G2G - Glynn County (Unmanned Aircraft Systems Project)

Cloud Award - Benjamin Brengman, President


Georgia GMIS 2018 Award Winners

Outstanding Professional - Clayton County (Jason Brookins)

Georgia GMIS 2017 Award Winners

Outstanding Professional:  Chris Addicks, City of Smyrna

Project of the Year:  Clayton County, GA; Click Clayton mobile app

Spirit of GMIS:  Karen Knight

Georgia GMIS 2016 Award Winners

Outstanding Professional:  Will Lyons, Paulding County

Project of the Year:  Augusta-Richmond County’s CityWatch app

Spirit of GMIS:  Clark Rainer

Georgia GMIS 2015 Award Winners

Outstanding Professional:  Brett Lavender, Clayton County

Project of the Year:  Camden County Joint Criminal Justice Council's Public Safety Data Project

Spirit of GMIS:  Nicole A. Goebel, City of St. Mary’s

GMIS International Award Winners


GMIS International Outstanding Professional Award (GMISOPA)

GMIS has presented an outstanding professional award since 1985. The award name was changed from (MIS Annual Professional Award (MISAPA) to GMIS Outstanding Professional Award (GMISOPA) in 2008.

Each year GMIS representatives from each member organization are asked to nominate someone from their staff whose performance has favorably reflected the information technology profession. A selection committee then reviews all candidates. The chosen professional is invited to the International Conference as a guest of GMIS at which time they will be honored with the Award.

2018 - Jason Brookins, Clayton County Board of Commissioners


2016 - Will Lyons, Paulding County, Georgia

2013 - Skip Floyd, Henry County, Georgia

2001 - Clark Rainer, Henry County, McDonough, Georgia

1987 - DiAnn Peeples, Richmond County, Augusta, Georgia


GMIS International G2 Award

The GMIS G2 Award recognizes a public sector agency whose exceptional G2 project serves as a shining example of how governments should be expanding their reach in their delivery of public services.  Projects eligible for the award are Government-to-Citizen (G2C), Government-to-Business (G2B), and Government-to-Government (G2G).


2017 - Clayton County, Georgia (G2C)

2016 - August-Richmond County, Georgia (G2C)


GMIS International Best Practices Award

The GMIS Best Practices Award represents trailblazers and risk takers who find innovative, exciting, and sometimes genius ways of delivering citizen services.

2018 - Macon-Bibb, GA County Government, Department of Information Technology



GMIS International Champion Chapter Award

The GMIS Champion Chapter Award recognizes a state chapter for its many GMIS activities and overall GMIS contributions.


2011 – Georgia Chapter


GMIS International Hershel Strickland Award

In 2008, the Ambassador of the Year Award was renamed the Hershel Strickland Award to honor the memory of contributions he made to all aspects of GMIS International.  The award was initially established by Jack Humphries and the GMIS International Board to recognize a GMIS International member who recruits the most new members in a year, thus helping to make GMIS International a great organization.


2017 - Karen Knight, City of Douglasville, Georgia

2013 - Karen Knight, City of Douglasville, Georgia

2000 - Charles Downey, Atlanta, Georgia

1989 - Frank W. Strausbaugh, Savannah, Georgia


GMIS International Member Emeritus

The following persons have been awarded Member Emeritus status for their outstanding service as a GMIS International member:


2013-2014, Charles Tate, Consolidated Government of Muscogee County/City of Columbus, Georgia

2010-2011, Jerry Cornish, City of Savannah, Georgia

1982-1983, Hershel E. Strickland, Marietta, Georgia